Tags

,

Sour Cream Pound Cake

Sour Cream Pound Cake

Tomorrow is my hubbies birthday. One of his favorite desserts is this Pound Cake originally made from a friend. He liked it so much he actually had her show him how to make it. They put it together and baked it at her house. She makes it in a few different ways. One is the good ole tube pan or bundt method. Another is in loaf pans, which she makes at Christmas and gives out – a lot of these she adds walnuts to. Then, there is the birthday cake version. This one really rocks. She makes it in two 9″ round pans with a rich butter cream frosting. In between the layers she places fresh strawberries with some of the butter cream. This one is definitely a diet breaker.

Well, I didn’t have any strawberries, and really didn’t have the time to devote to making this cake. I actually called her to find out what she suggested. I went with the bundt version. I plan to serve it with some fresh strawberries in juice and some whipped topping. The photo is the plain version before we do anything special tomorrow night. Hopefully I can photo a “prettier” version and post it.

Ok, the funny thing about this recipe, is that when I typed it out (about a year ago) I apparently never put sour cream in the recipe. So I’m standing at the counter in my kitchen tonight looking desperately for how much sour cream I was supposed to use. I was thinking that surely a sour cream pound cake would have to contain sour cream! So, had to call my friend back… got that all straightened out and ended up with a nice bundt loaf. I had a little extra batter, so I made a 6″ round too.

I think this recipe may be a take off of Paula Dean’s recipe. Seeing that my friend grew up in Savannah, maybe the two of them got together on this one!

 

Sour Cream Pound Cake (the KC version)

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup Butter, softened
  • 3 Cups sugar
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp lemon or almond extract
  • 3 Cups Flour
  • ¼ tsp Baking Soda
  • Pinch Salt
  • 8 oz. Sour Cream

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Grease three 8″ loaf pans, bundt pan, or round pans: two 9″ or three 8″.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, soda and salt, set aside. Cream butter and sugar; add eggs one at a time. Add vanilla and lemon extract. Add flour mixture and sour cream alternately ending with flour. Spoon batter into pans. Bake loaf and round pans 45 – 60 minutes, and bundt pan 60 to 75 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean. For loafs you may add 3 -5 cups of chopped pecans.

For round cake, (birthday cake), slice off top layer and frost – if desired frost inside layers slightly and layer with thin sliced strawberries. Frosting recipe follows:

½ Cup softened butter
½ Cup butter Crisco
1 16oz. Box Powdered Sugar
1 tsp vanilla
2 -3 Tbl milk

Cream butter, Crisco until smooth, slowly add powdered sugar, add vanilla and milk to desired consistency.

Update: The cake turned out very well. I served it with some strawberries and whipped topping… the kids elected to have some ice cream on the side too…

Finished and plated...

Finished and plated...

