Tags

, ,

 

I am always looking for new muffin recipes. I am drawn to

Cereal Muffins

Cereal Muffins

ones that have fruit … especially blueberries. These cause my eye mainly because I had some Raisin Bran that I really needed to use up. I came across this recipe and the original link at Dine & Dish (another of my favorite blog sites).

I made these one Sunday morning before church. The kids snubbed their nose at them, I guess because there were no chocolate chips or frosting/icing. My husband however thought they were great. I have been making them ever since…just for him. I make a dozen and freeze them. This way I can take one out in the morning and pack it in his lunch. By lunchtime it is defrosted and ready to eat. Here is the recipe and the link to recipeezaar.

Breakfast Cereal Muffins (aka Raisin Bran Muffins for us)

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • ¼ cup vegetable oil
  • ½ cup milk
  • ¼ cup honey
  • 1 cup flour
  • ¼ cup brown sugar
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups breakfast cereal (like Raisin Bran, etc.)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Beat egg and whisk together with oil, milk and honey. In a separate bowl, combine the dry ingredients; mix well. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and stir just until flour is moist (batter should be lumpy). Fill muffin cups 2/3 full with the batter, and bake for 20-25 minutes (until golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean when inserted). Remove from pan immediately. May make only 11 muffins, double recipe for larger muffins.

11 Muffins: 172 kcals
12 Muffins: 158 kcals

P.S. I traced the calories for my husband. He is trying to keep his calorie count down…

