Tags

, ,

bourbon-chicken-3-copy

Bourbon Chicken

 This is one of the many “gotta try” recipes I have bookmarked at Blog Chef.net by Bobby.  My whole family enjoys Asian dishes and I have plenty of choices on her blog. I almost talked myself out of making this dish… mainly because it involved frying and I hate the smell that frying in the house leaves… but I am SO glad I did. My husband said this was the best Bourbon Chicken dish that he’s ever had… (We have a few mall food court dishes that we frequent… but this is better, and less expensive.)

I served the chicken over long grain rice that I cooked in broth instead of water. Using broth keeps the “customers” from asking for extra salt and butter. I also steamed some vegetables in my recently purchased food steamer – which I LOVE. Other than the frying (which I used peanut oil) this was a very nutritious meal. It was pretty easy and straightforward too.

Oh, and I am curious too as to why this is called Bourbon…since there is no liquor in it… Maybe it’s from Bourbon Street in New Orleans… don’t know… too tired to care…

Bourbon Chicken

adapted from Blog Chef

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds boneless skinless chicken breast cut into chunks
  • Corn starch
  • Peanut Oil

For the sauce:

  • 1 garlic clove, minced (I didn’t have any, but I used some garlic salt)
  • 1/4 teaspoon ginger
  • 3/4 teaspoon red pepper (I went real light on this)
  • 1/4 cup apple juice
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons ketchup
  • 1 tablespoon cider vinegar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/3 cup soy sauce

Directions:

Cube chicken and dust with cornstarch. In large skillet brown the chicken in hot oil then remove and drain. (I didn’t use the same skillet for the sauce).

Combine the sauce ingredients in large skillet or wok. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and add chicken. Simmer for ten minutes and serve over rice with sauce.

