Tags

, ,

image00001

I will admit that I have yet to make homemade pizza dough. I have made plenty of yeasted breads, but never this. Usually I use the Pillsbury Refrigerated Dough. The fam really enjoys the dough, and it is a quick and easy fix. However, I came across this recipe (at Biggest Diabetic Loser) a couple of days ago and decided it was time. I actually purchased a food processor almost a year ago, and until this morning, had not taken it out of the box. I got a steal of a deal on it though…

This dough was very easy to make and had tasted great. Good enough that I made two batches then played around with the dough. From the first batch I made a pizza for lunch. With the second, I made a focaccia loaf and some pretzels (see my next post). No doubt I will use this recipe again and again.

Pizza Dough (via the food processor)

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 to 3 cups all-purpose flour, divided
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 package active yeast
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil

Directions:

Put 2 cups flour and salt in food processor and pulse.  Heat water to 110 degrees.  Add yeast and let it sit for 5 minutes until its all nice and bubbly.  Add olive oil to yeast/water mixture and stir.  Start food processor and slowly pour in yeast mixture. Add the remaining flour in portions, enough that the dough stops sticking to the sides.  I actually checks the “stickiness” of the dough. Then, let the processor run for about 5 minutes until the dough begins to form a ball. Mine made enough for a 14″ pizza, about 1/4″ thick. Note, I also let mine rise about 10 minutes, then I baked it at 425 for 5 minutes to crisp-en the dough.

Add your desired toppings and bake for another 7 minutes, or until the edges of the dough are lightly brown, and the cheese is melted. For my pizza today I used Ragu Pizza Sauce, Mozzarella Cheese, Bacon, Onion and grated Parmesan cheese. (I didn’t have any pepperoni, or I would have surely used it.)

…the Foccacia…

image00002

Ingredients:

  • Prepared Pizza Dough
  • Olive oil
  • Herbs and seasonings as desired
  • Parmesan Cheese, grated

Directions:

With half of the second dough, I rounded it and let it rise in an oiled pan for 30 minutes. Then I flattened the round to about and inch this and brushed olive oil infused with garlic and herbs…then a little of the grated Parmesan cheese. It baked at 425 for 15 minutes. It smelled downright amazing.

**In the Biggest Diabetic Losers post, she mentions using 1/2 – 3/4 cup flour following the yeast addition. I found that I needed closer to 1 cup. Maybe because I live in humid Florida, I don’t know… it still turned out great!

