Tags

, , ,

 

Sock it to me

The last time I posted (which seems like forever-ago) it was the Honey Bun Cake. In the mean time, I have been very active working at a summer camp. Of the hats I wear there, one is helping in the kitchen. So much of my time has been consumed with feeding 100 plus people three times a day. Back on track though to the Honey Bun Cake. My dad asked me to make something for him to take to church. The class he attends employs what I might consider people of older persuasion (ha ha). So I didn’t want to just give him a 9 x 13 pan to take. Enter the Sock it to Me Cake. Essentially it is the Honey Bun Cake, aka Cinnamon Roll Cake, aka… baked in a Bundt pan. Same cake, more formal look.

I don’t have any internal pictures of the cake, but seeing that I received an empty container, I figured it must have been pretty good. My dad thought sure he’d bring leftovers home… he says most of the time they just “nibble” in his class. I might bake another one, just so I could see what the inside looked like!

I made some very minor alterations on the cake to ensure the moisture in the cake. I don’t know why… it was cleaned out while still warm… but anyway. I shopped around quite a few recipes and thought these changes would be nice. I have underlined my changes.

Sock It to Me Cake

Cake:

  • 1 yellow or butter cake mix
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 2 tablespoons vanilla (I forgot to add this!)

Filling:

  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons cinnamon
  • 2 tablespoons reserved cake mix

Icing:

  • 3 tablespoons butter, very soft
  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 – 3 tablespoons milk (more may be needed)

Directions:

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees and spray a Bundt pan with baking spray.

Combine the filling ingredients and set aside. Many recipes call for 1 cup of pecans, but I don’t like nuts…

Combine all of the cake ingredients and stir until smooth, (most of the lumps should be gone). Pour one half of the cake batter into the pan and top with the brown sugar filling. Carefully spread the filling over the batter. I try to leave a little space around the outside of the cake. Top with remaining batter and place in the oven. Bake for 50 minutes, slightly longer maybe, but mine was perfect at 50. A toothpick should come out clean.

Let stand in cake pan about 10 minutes then transfer to serving dish. While the cake is cooling, prepare icing. Combine all of the ingredients and stir until smooth. More milk and/or sugar may be added to desired consistency. Before icing, poke holes over top of cake with a thin skewer (this is to let the icing pervade the center of the cake, ensuring moisture). Pour icing over the top.

 Sock it to me 2

