Tags

, ,

Hawaiian Pork Roast

We are home from camp this week, which means I have the opportunity to prepare dinner for the family. We were heading out to the mall, so I decided on slow cooking a pork roast. It’s a good thing I chose this cooking method, as we totally lost track of time. At 5:30 we were still shopping and we normally eat dinner at 5. This meal was ready when we arrived home. It is always a family favorite.

Hawaiian Pork Roast

Ingredients:

  • 2 – 3 pound pork tenderloin
  • 20 ounce can pineapple chunk, juice reserved*
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce (more to taste if desired)
  • Salt, Pepper
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch

Directions:

Place pork in slow cooker. Drain pineapple juice (set aside chunks) and combine it with the brown sugar, soy sauce and salt, pepper. Cook on low 6 hours, or on high for about 3 – 4. At the half way point, add the pineapple chunks. The roast is done when the meat reaches at least 160 degrees and/or the meat is tender. Before serving, combine 2 tablespoons corn starch with 1/4 cup of the juices and return to pot. Let stand about 5 minutes to thicken. I served five people (3 adults, 2 kids) with about 2 servings leftover.

I served the pork over rice with broccoli. The meat was so tender I couldn’t cut it. I ended up just pulling it with two forks and serving it over the rice with its juices.

