Tags

, , ,

IMG_2480

Torteslice

If you are looking for a quick, easy yet decadent (fool em all) dessert, this one’s calling your name. I have made this before and it turns out wonderfully. I have had a packed schedule all week and while I would love to make a torte from scratch, it just wasn’t going to happen today. So improvising let me here:

Dark Chocolate Brownie Torte with Chocolate Ganache

Brownies:

  • 1 Box Dark Chocolate Brownie mix – 8″ size (I used Ghirardelli)
  • Oil, Eggs and Water as called for on box
  • Zest of 1 Orange

Prepare 8″ round cake pan with cooking spray. Follow baking directions for fudge-like brownies and bake. When done, remove and let cool for 10 minutes then remove brownie from pan to serving dish. Prepare ganache.

Ganache:

  • 1 Bar (4 oz) Dark Chocolate Baking Bar, broken into small pieces (60% cacao)
  • 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream

Place chocolate in small bowl and microwave  in small.

Microwave cream uncovered on high until boiling. Pour over chocolate and stir until smooth.  Cool for 10 minutes, the ganache will thicken. Pour evenly over torte. (You can heat on the stove top as well)

Allow torte to cool completely (or you will need a spoon!) Garnish with orange peel if desired.

Of course, I had already tossed the orange peel when I got to this step, so no decor!

