Tags

, , , ,

My family, immediate and extended, always seem to enjoy this recipe. It is straight forward, no extra’s, just potatoes, eggs, relish and mayo. Of course you can add onions, celery and other crunchies… but with a family of picky eaters, I still with the “if you like it that way, add it yourself” principle. (Is that harsh?) Oh, and I’m not really sure what southern style really means, but I live in the south, so I’m calling it southern.

Here it is:

Southern Style Potato Salad

  • 1 (5 lb.) bag potatoes, russet or Idaho
  • 8 hard-boiled eggs, peeled and chopped
  • 1 cup light mayonnaise (more to taste and texture)
  • 1/4 cup sweet relish (more to taste and texture)
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Paprika to garnish

Directions:

Peel and dice potatoes and boil in salted water until fork tender. Remove and drain. *If you like a chunky potato salad, allow potatoes to cool completely. I usually add the other ingredients to warm potatoes. Return potatoes to pot and add other ingredients. Stir lightly until all of the potatoes are covered. Add salt and pepper to taste. Serve warm, or refrigerate until ready. Garnish with paprika and greens if desired.

Honestly, the amount of mayo and sweet relish are approximate. I add until I reach a smooth texture and to taste. I think the key is having enough to cover all of the potatoes well. And again, I like to prepare it with warm potatoes. Some of the potatoes end up mashing some, adding to the creaminess of the dish. Yum.

A 5 pound bag makes quite a bit, enough for at least 10 servings with leftovers.

