Tags

, , , , , ,

I have a few brand name websites that I frequent, such as: Kraft, Betty Crocker, Pillsbury, Nestle, Hershey’s and Land O’Lakes… Well today I had a little free time and decided to run through my “Recipe Sources” favorites list. When I clicked onto Kraft’s site, right there on the front page was one of my pictures – to my surprise, a recipe that I had posted at least two years ago was the featured member recipe of the day! I didn’t like jump up and throw a party, but I thought it was pretty cool and very unexpected.

With this in mind I figured I would post the recipe for this cake mix bar. (I was going to “repost it” but I found that I had never posted it here in the first place!) There are many cake mix “tweaks” out there but I did rather enjoy this one.

Piece of Cake-Mix Cookie Bars

Ingredients:

  • 1 box (18.25 oz.) yellow cake mix
  • 1 box (3.25 oz.) instant vanilla pudding (I used white chocolate)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 12 oz. of “mix-ins”

 Mix-in Suggestions:

  • Chocolate Chips or Chunks (White, Milk, Semi or Dark, Butterscotch)
  • M&M’s
  • Hershey’s Mini Kissables (I used)
  • Chopped Candy Bars
  • Chopped, Toasted Nuts

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a 9 x 13″ pan with foil (or coat with cooking spray).

Combine all of the ingredients except the “mix-ins” and stir until blended. The batter will be thick. Fold in desired mix-ins.
Spread evenly into pan. Bake for 25 – 30 minutes, or until top is a light, golden brown, and the center is set. Cool completely in pan then remove with foil. Slice into bars. Store at room temperature in a tightly covered pan. It will hold up well for about 3 – 4 days. (Ah, the joy of processed foods).

*Of course I had to snap a screenshot with my iPhone. It won’t be there forever! LOL

