Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Have a spare cake mix just screaming to be used? I did. As I’ve said before, I have no shame in using a cake mix. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy “from scratch” baking too. So the other morning I had some spare time before I woke the house up and threw these together. The recipe is extremely easy and yields a tasty breakfast option. You can mix and match for flavors too, but I went with the kids favorite, chocolate chip. Here is the base recipe…

Cake Mix Muffins (Chocolate Chip)

  • 1 box yellow cake mix
  • 1 (4 serving) box instant vanilla pudding
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 3 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 1/4 cup oil, vegetable or canola
  • 1/4 tsp extract (vanilla or almond)
  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips (I used mini)

Directions:

Pre-heat the oven to 350. Line 2 muffin pans with paper cups or use baking spray.

Combine all ingredients except for chocolate chips. Stir until moist then fold in chocolate chips. The batter will be lumpy, don’t over-stir. Fill muffin cups 3/4 full and bake 23 – 29 minutes. Note I filled the cups nearly full and it yielded 18 muffins. As you can see they don’t rise a lot, so I don’t think you can overfill them.

I hope you enjoy this shortcut recipe. The original recipe came from the book “101 Things To Do With A Cake Mix” by Stephanie Ashcraft and it was for a double chocolate chip muffin using a fudge cake mix and chocolate instant pudding.

