Tags

, , , , , , , ,

We had two things to celebrate today! I will admit my excitement for one of these was fueled mainly by my teenage daughter, as I really don’t feel the hype surrounding “The Royal Wedding” (post to come). The other, however, is the 10th birthday of my youngest. I really can’t believe how quickly the time has passed.

The birthday dessert was for school. So at some point this weekend I will have to prepare another…but I digress. Traditionally I prepare a cookie cake for the kids to take to school on their birthday. The idea for this year’s theme stems from a nickname my daughter acquired in class. Apparently she really likes cheese! She wasn’t expecting this decoration, but she was quite pleased. The cookie itself was a “quick fix” recipe, as time was not on my side last night. It was actually very good and baked up perfect for this type of dessert. I will definitely use it for the next cookie cake. The recipe is mildly adapted from a Duncan Hines Cake Mix cookbook. The only change was I didn’t include nuts, but instead replaced them with additional chocolate chips. Quick, easy, painless….

Giant Cookie Cake

  • 1 pkg Duncan Hines Yellow Cake Mix
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees. Coat a 12 inch pizza pan with cooking spray.

Combine all of the ingredients except for chocolate chips. Mix until thoroughly blended then fold in chocolate chips. Mixture will be thick. Spread into prepared pan and bake for 20 – 25 minutes, or until golden brown and center is set. Remove and cool completely before decorating.

