Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I have a teenage daughter. She like boys, British boys. She really likes Prince William. Yes, I am pretty sure I saw a tear this morning when Kate said “I do”. It’s funny to have listened to my daughter over the last few weeks comment on how Kate wasn’t the one for William, that it was her. Only she (my daughter) was worthy of Williams hand in marriage. Oh, well, too late now.

A couple of months ago I actually agreed to let her stay home from school to watch the wedding. Then I found out it would be at 6 am our time, so she gets the best of both worlds – wedding and school! Ok, so each of us win. Bright and early this morning, 4:30 precisely, I woke her up so she could watch history. She even watched streaming video on my iPhone for our short ride to school. Later today, she would attend a “wedding party” where she and some friends were dressing up and watching the wedding again. They would be having an English dinner followed by this dessert. I know there are a few recipes floating around for this cake, but this is one I found a while back, so I didn’t really look further than that. From Betty Crocker.com:

Prince William’s Chocolate Biscuit Cake

Cake:
  • 1 pkg (8.8 oz) McVitie’s chocolate digestives tea biscuits
  • 1 1/3 cups dark chocolate chips (8 oz)
  • 2/3 cup whipping cream
  • 2 tbsp butter
Frosting:
  • 2/3 cup dark chocolate chips (4 oz)
  • 1/3 cup whipping cream
  • 1 tbsp butter
Line a 6 or 8 inch* round cake pan with foil. Spray with nonstick cooking spray. Break each of the biscuits into 1-inch pieces; set aside.

In medium bowl, place 1 1/3 cup chocolate chips; set aside. In 1-quart saucepan, heat 2/3 cup whipping cream and 2 tablespoons butter over medium heat, stirring until butter is melted and mixture comes to a boil. Pour cream mixture over chocolate and stir smooth. Add biscuit pieces to chocolate mixture, gently fold until all pieces are coated. Spoon into the prepared cake pan. Gently press mixture into pan. Refrigerate cake for 3 hours or until firm.

Remove cake from cake pan and turn upside down onto a serving plate. Remove foil.

In small bowl place remaining 2/3 cup chocolate chips. In 1-quart saucepan, heat remaining 1/3 cup whipping cream and 1 tablespoon butter over medium heat, stirring until butter is melted and mixture comes to a boil. Pour cream mixture over chocolate and stir smooth. Pour the melted chocolate over the cake; frost top and sides using a butter knife or offset spatula. If desired, decorate with melted milk chocolate.

*I suggest using the smaller pan, as I used the 8″ pan and the cake was quite thin.

