Tags

, , , , , ,

Congratulations to all of the 2011 Graduates… and especially to my awesome favorite “oldest neice” who graduated from high school this past week. And as a promise to her (as made not by me, but by my daughter) here are her cake pops… ok, no cake involved but the thought was there! Actually, that was the original intent but time and supplies did not cooperate. We were going to prepare the actual cake pops as outlined in Bakerella’s “Cake Pops” book, but instead settled for her original graduation pop that she shows on her blog. With a bit of improvision, I was quite pleased in the results.

For the ingredients, I used Reeses miniatures, Dove dark chocolate bars, chocolate melting discs, pop sticks, Mini M&M’s and AirHead Extremes. If you’d like the play by play, you can link over to Bakerella or scroll down and I’ll jot quickly what I did, which is just slightly adapated. Otherwise, enjoy the pictures and again, congratulations to all those who celebrate a graduation this year! P.S. Remember our blogging friend Bakerella in your prayers… check out her blog for more information…

My Prep Version:

  1. Freeze the Reese’s for a few minutes to help the wrappers come off without taking the chocolate too… remove wrappers and place updside down on hard surface.
  2. Melt 15 – 20 chocolate discs and dip the end of a popsicle stick in chocolate, then press into center of Reese’s cup. Allow chocolate to harden for a couple of minutes.
  3. Lay the Dove chocolate pieces out, right side up. When the chocolate on the PB cups has hardened, dip the bottom of the cup into the melted chocolate and press onto the center of the Dove chocolate. Allow to set again. Once set, place the sticks in a holder (or foam cube) and finish the pop.
  4. Adhere one mini M&M with a dab of melting chocolate – and for the tassle, remove one strip of the Airhead Extreme (I used blue) and slice about 1 1/2 inches. I tossed mine into the microwave for about 10 seconds (for all of them) so I could get the “bend” to stay in the tassle – otherwise they stick straight out. Let sit for a couple of minutes to ensure the chocolate has set then serve!

