Tags

, , , , , , ,

I had heard of it, but hadn’t yet seen, much less entertained the though of it. I mean it brings to mind thought of adding bacon to desserts. I did it though, and cringed as watched my daughter taste test it… “It’s good, real good”… Phew, what a relief. I didn’t just defile the majesty of chocolate fudge. Yes, I am proud to admit, I added beans to my fudge… all in the name of 5th grade. Would I do it again? Sure, but I certainly don’t think that adding fiber to fudge can justify it as healthy, it’s still a comfort food. Rich, smooth and creamy and melt in your mouth fudge… and a class full of kids that had no idea what they were eating. It was “Mexican Day”, and a friend gave me this recipe. It won’t replace my Peanut Butter Fudge, but it is a great addition to the fudge file. She called it Pinto Bean Fudge, but I like the name Mexican Fudge a lot better. It’s sounds much less offensive. Without further ado, here’s how:

Mexican Fudge (aka Pinto Bean Fudge)

Ingredients:

  • 6 ounces unsweetened chocolate
  • 6 tbsp butter
  • 1 (15 oz.) can pinto beans, drained and mashed
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 pounds powdered sugar
  • 1 cup chopped pecans (optional)

Directions:

Line an 8″ square pan with foil and grease with cooking spray.

In a medium saucepan, melt the butter and chocolate over low heat. Meanwhile, in a separate bowl, combine the mashed beans and 1/4 cup of milk until well mixed. Stir the bean mixture into the melted chocolate and add vanilla. Add powdered sugar in thirds, until the sugar has blended with the chocolate. If consistency is too thick, add a small amount of milk. Fold in pecans and spread evenly in pan. Refrigerate until set, about one hour. For best consistency, store in refrigerator.

*Note, in the picture you see a chunk of chocolate. I didn’t add pecans because, well I didn’t have any. But I did have some dark chocolate chunks that I tossed in intead!

