Tags

, ,

Yes, there are chocolate chip recipes everywhere. Everyone has thier own preferences too. Mine are based on my mood at the time. Sometimes I like a crisp, crumbly cookie (fresh though), other times I want a soft chewy cookie. I think if my option is to have a warm one, the soft and chewy would be my choice.

A long time ago I ran across this recipe which uses a dry pudding mix. I really liked it, not only for the taste, but for the way the cookie held up. It was sturdy and soft, but wouldn’t fall apart in your hand. I have used them to make ice cream sandwiches, served hot out of the oven, tossed with some ice cream, and just had a good ole’ room temp cookie. I was not disappointed in any of them. The texture was amazing combined with the soft fresh cookie…even a day or two later.

 

I know this recipe can be found just about anywhere on the internet, but I am really posting for myself. This way I don’t have to go searching down my recipe. And I have had a couple of friends ask for it too. I made a couple of my own alterations, just for fun. The main internet recipe calls for a vanilla pudding, I use a white chocolate mix. And I use two types of chocolate chips/chunks… it make for a tongue twister on tastes.

Unless you want a ton of dough, halve the recipe – you will see the half measurements to the right each ingredient.

 

Chocolate “Two” Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 4 1/2 cups all purpose flour (2 1/4 C)
  • 2 tsp. baking soda (1tsp)
  • 2 cups salted butter, softened (1 C)
  • 1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar (3/4 C) 
  • 1/2 C granulated sugar (1/4 C)
  • 2 (3.3 oz) pkgs instant vanilla pudding* (1 pkg)
  • 4 large eggs (2 eggs)
  • 1 tbs vanilla extract (1 1/2 tsp)
  • 2 C semisweet chocolate chips (1 C)
  • 2 C dark chocolate chips or chunks (1 C)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Sift together flour and baking soda, set aside.

In a large bowl, cream the butter with the sugars. Beat in pudding mix until well blended. Stir in the eggs and vanilla, then blend in flour mixture. Don’t over mix. Drop cookies by rounded teaspoons onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes. Remove when the cookie edges are a golden brown but the center is still soft. Cool on pan for two minutes, then remove to a brown paper bag to help absorb the oils. (this really works well!) Store in an airtight container. 

