Tags

, ,

Waste not Muffins

Waste not Muffins

I hate to throw food away. Period. So I spend a good amount of time searching for recipes to use up what I don’t want to waste. Today, it was bananas. I only had about 45 minutes to get a recipe mixed and baked before I had to leave for work. And for whatever reason, I was obsessed with doing this today. So off I went. I think this recipe is often used for quick bread too, but I stuck with the muffins due to time. This recipe seemed quick and simple. I found it at several sites, but used this one specifically. Oh, and the messy stuff all over the pan was my last minute rendition of struessell topping. ~ I ran so short on time, I actually had to take the muffins, still in the pans, to work with me to remove and plate. (That’s why I don’t have an “out of the pan” picture).

 
Here is the recipe and the link: (thanks to catcancook.com)
Banana Muffins
Ingredients:
  • 3 or 4 Large bananas, mashed (I only had 3)
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 slightly beaten egg
  • 1/3 cup melted margarine or butter ( I used unsalted butter)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • I added pecans to half, and chocolate chips to the other half

Directions:

Mix the mashed banana, sugar, egg and margarine together. Set aside. In a separate bowl, mix together baking soda, baking powder, salt and flour. Mix wet and dry ingredients all together, being careful not to over-stir! Pour into greased muffin tins, (I used a silicone muffin pan – whic I love) and bake in 350 degrees oven for approximately 20 minutes. (Mine was ready in about 18)

I topped them with a butter/brown sugar/flour topping… I think I used too much butter! But I had thrown the topping together in quite a hurry too.

 
