Tags

, , ,

image00002

(a Libby’s Pumpkin  recipe)

I had a carrot cake mix just screaming to be used. I have a home made carrot cake recipe that a boxed mix couldn’t come close to complimenting, so I needed another use for the mix. I found this one, which interested me because it was a lighter recipe. It turned out tender and cakey – pretty much reminding me of a pumpkin loaf. But hey, I was able to use the box mix, and I will take the muffins to work tomorrow. Here is the recipe and the link to the Libby’s site.

Pumpkin, Spice & Everything Nice Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 box spice or carrot cake mix
  • 1 (15 oz) can Libby’s 100% Pure Pumpkin
  • 6 tablespoons egg substitute or 3 large egg whites*
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 2/3 cup raisins**

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease or line 24 muffin cups.

Combine cake mix, pumpkin , egg and water until moistened, then beat for 2 minutes. Stir in raisins and spoon into muffin cups (2/3 full). The batter was thick, I used my large cookie scoop.

Bake for 18 to 22 minutes (mine took 15). Cool in pan for 10 minutes then remove to cool completely.

* I used egg beaters and changed up the raisins a little** – I made 1/3 with raisins, 1/3 with milk chocolate chips, and 1/3 with white chips. I changed the chips to accommodate the picky eaters in the house.

Per Muffin: Calories: 110, Total Fat: 1.5g, Sat Fat: .5g,
Cholesterol: 0mg, Sodium: 10mg, Carbs: 23g, Fiber: 1g, Sugars: 13g, Protein: 2g, Vit A 45%, Calcium 4%, Iron 4%

 

image00001

