Tags

,

Check Muddy Buddies

Check Muddy Buddies

I’ve known for a few weeks that this box of cereal was coming near its “best by” date, but I had been procrastinating using it. Not sure of the exact date, I checked it last night, um, figured I needed to use it up. It was getting late, and I needed an quick and easy recipe. Then bam! There it was, right on the box! I have never actually made any type of chex mix, but I have tasted plenty. I knew this one would go over well with the family and hey, if the cereal was stale, the PB and Chocolate would mask it!

 Quick, easy… gone in under 24 hours:

Chex Muddy Buddies

Ingredients:

  • 9 cups Chex
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

Directions:

Place cereal in a large bowl, set aside.

Microwave chocolate chips, peanut butter and butter uncovered on High 1 minute; stir. Microwave about 30 seconds longer or until mixture can be stirred smooth. Stir in vanilla. Pour mixture over cereal, stirring until evenly coated. Pour into 2-gallon resealable food-storage plastic bag. Add powdered sugar. Seal bag; shake until well coated. Spread on waxed paper to cool. Store in airtight container in refrigerator.

Serving size 1/2 Cup: Calories 220; Total Fat 9g (Saturated Fat 4g); Cholesterol 5mg; Sodium 200mg; Carbs 30g; Sugars 17g; Protein 3g

