Tags

, ,

image000042

 “Eww, those bananas are black!” Those would be my seven year old informing me that what I was peeling was gross. The bananas were perfect though. I have been waiting for several days for them to be read to bake with. Though apparently grossed out, she still was eager to help “smoosh” them into a measuring cup. She was fascinated as the gooey bananas slithered between her fingers. Anyway, everyone in my house enjoys banana bread. I prefer having no nuts and chocolate chips or chunks in mine, but my father is allergic to chocolate (horror I know!) so I try to accommodate him when possible. So I chose to use white chips in this loaf. With the chips, I added some dried cranberries – I think they go well with white chocolate in baking. And as for the bananas, I used three large (black) bananas that were still chunky. I think its cool to come across a small chunk of banana – enhancing the sweetness and surprise of the loaf.

I have made several versions of banana bread, some with butter, some with oil or shortening. And when the recipe calls for milk, I prefer using buttermilk. My usual recipe makes two loafs – yes I could just half the recipe, but I recently saw a recipe at Cookie Madness that used buttermilk, and it cut back on the amount of oil needed. I was game for a try (and I have never gone wrong with one of her recipes).

The loaf turned out wonderfully. I offered my husband a taste which turned into a slice. I will make this recipe again, and recommend it to banana bread connoisseurs.

Low Fat Banana Bread
(Recipe from Cookie Madness who adapted it from Epicurious)

Ingredients:

• 1 ¾ cups flour (7.7 ounces)
• 2 teaspoons baking powder
• ½ teaspoon baking soda
• ½ teaspoon salt
• 2 large eggs
• ¾ cup granulated sugar
• 3 ripe bananas – 1 cup smashed
• 1/3 cup buttermilk
• 1 tablespoon vegetable oil (generous)
• 1 tablespoon vanilla extract

*I added 1/2 cup of white chocolate chips and 1/3 cup dried cranberries

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325°F. Spray a 9×5 inch metal loaf pan with flour-added cooking spray.
Sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt; set aside.
Beat eggs and sugar with an electric mixer until fluffy and light (about 5 minutes). Mix in smashed bananas, buttermilk, oil and vanilla. Add flour mixture to banana mixture and stir just until blended. Transfer batter to prepared pan.
Bake bread until golden brown on top and tester inserted into center comes out clean, about 1 hour. Turn bread out onto rack and cool.
Makes 1 loaf.

image000032 

