Tags

, ,

Annie's Pumpkin Bread

Annie's Pumpkin Bread

Pumpkin is a staple of the holidays. Everywhere you turn it’s pumpkin this, pumpkin that… from entrees to desserts and ice creams, salted seeds, and bowls made out of pumpkin rhine. Oh, and I shouldn’t forget the season opener – the jack-o-lantern. I bought a pumpkin about two weeks before halloween this year – for the kids to carve. Needsless to say that nearly a month later, he still sits lonely in the garage. I just may be able to use it for a science experiment on it soon. Anyway – Last holiday season I was given a slice of pumpkin bread. I had not had any before, so I had nothing to compare it to. It was quite wonderful though. My sil served it cool with a dusting of powdered sugar. I knew I had to have the recipe. She received the recipe after a “taste testing” too. She received it from a friend at church who graciously gave it to her in a nice hallmark card. I jotted it hurriedly on a scrap sheet of paper. I also failed to write down how long to cook it. Anyway, it is a very easy recipe that most anyone could throw together. I named the pumpkin bread after its author, Annie S.

Annie’s Pumpkin Bread

  • 1 ½ Cups plus 2 Tbsp Flour
  • 1 ½ Cup Sugar 
  • ¾ tsp Salt
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • ½ tsp Cinnamon
  • ½ tsp Nutmeg
  • ½ Cup Oil
  • 2 eggs slightly beaten
  • 1 Cup Canned Pumpkin
  • 1/3 Cup Water

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, grease and flour desired pan(s).

Sift together dry ingredients, set aside.

Beat together eggs, oil, water and pumpkin. Make a well in dry ingredients and add wet mixture. Stir with spoon just until all ingredients are wet. Pour into greased pan(s), fill pan 2/3 full. Bake about one hour or until toothpick comes out clean.

Makes one 9″ loaf pan. When doubled will make three 8″ loafs.

I always double the recipe

