Tags

,

Stunning Shrimp!

Stunning Shrimp!

Well, we have missed yet another Sunday of church. Having three kids means that just about the time you get one well, the next one has it. Your chances get slimmer that you won’t get sick…since you get exposed to it three times…

This did however give me the chance to cook some shrimp I picked up last night. I got a pound and a half of large shrimp… even better, it was already deveined. I also picked up a bunch of broccoli (not a lot, but a bunch!). So Sunday dinner was calling for a shrimp broccoli stir fry. We are all avid shrimp lovers here, and broccoli is about the only vegetable that my kids don’t snub their nose to anymore.  It came together really quickly…which is a good thing because my family was in breakdown mode. (i.e. need to eat, like an hour ago).  This is a great dish. It’s very filling and healthy, even low calorie. Oh, I didn’t add the cornstarch, if you like thicker sauce though, you’ll need to add it. Here’s the plan:

Shrimp Broccoli Stir Fry

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion, sliced into strips
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1 1/2 lb. large shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 1 large bunch fresh broccoli
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • Salt & Pepper
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch (dissolved in 1 – 2 tbsp water)
  • 3 -4 cups white or brown rice

Directions:

In wok, or large saucepan, saute’ the onion in some water (or butter, or oil…I went the healthy route). Meanwhile, steam the broccoli until it begins to turn bright green then add to wok. Add shrimp, ginger and other desired seasonings. Cook over medium heat until shrimp is pink and cooked through, about 5 minutes. Add cornstarch mixture and allow the juices to thicken, about 1 -2 minutes. Serve stir fry over hot cooked rice.

Notes:

When I stir fry, I always saute’ with water or broth. As the water dissolves in the heat I add more, about 1/4 cup at a time. It steams and makes cool noises, but I have found it helps to caramelize the onions…or whatever is being sauteed.

One more thing, I steamed my broccoli using a pot with boiling water and a collander. It worked wonderfully.

 

 
Shrimp Broccoli Stir FryShrimp Broccoli Stir Fry

 

 

 

