Tags

, ,

Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Buttermilk Fried Chicken

I originally set out to bake this chicken. Then, under the influence of hungry family members, I figured the frying pan would cook a little faster than the oven. Breaded chicken really does taste better fried, and I figure it’s ok to poison the family every once and a while…

I live with leg lovers… chicken legs that is. Legs seem to be the first pieces of chicken taken… and the ones most asked for. Last night I filled a gallon storage bag with fresh chicken legs and doused them with buttermilk. They soaked all night and all day today. Just before cooking I strained them and prepared the flour mixture. They were awesome, and they really did cook faster then the oven would have. My recipe was just random. All I knew was that I had to have them swim in buttermilk overnight.

Fried Buttermilk Chicken (Legs)

Ingredients:

  • 5 lbs chicken legs
  • 2 cups buttermilk (I used low fat)
  • 2 cups flour
  • Salt, Pepper, Garlic Salt, Seasoned Salt
  • 2 cups canola or peanut oil

Directions:

Marinate chicken in the buttermilk as long as possible, overnight is best. *Add some pepper and garlic salt to mixture. Remove and strain chicken. Prepare flour mixture, season as desired… add some chili powder for a little zing! Heat oil in thick pan (I used a 10″ cast iron pan). On my stove top, I kept the burner between medium and high. The oil is ready when the oil “bubbles” when drops of flour are added. Dredge chicken in flour mixture. Place chicken in oil. Cook for 10 minutes, turn the chicken over and cook about 10 more minutes. Thicker pieces of chicken will need longer cooking times. The chicken is cooked when the internal temperature has reached at least 165 degrees. Drain on wire rack position over a sheet pan.

I served my legs 🙂 with mashed potatoes and gravy with corn on the cob. The classic southern dinner! (huh Paula Dean)

Dinner went over great and since I completely ruined any thought of a healthy dinner, I gave the kids some cookies and cream ice cream for dessert. Does it count that it was “light”???

Have a great night!

