Tags

,

Crackin Good

Crackin Good

There’s nothing like remembering the morning of, that you are supposed to bring a food item to an office (Christmas) party. Is that a sign that you are getting old?

That’s what happened to me on Monday. So I scurried to find a recipe that required minimal ingredients, prep, and if necessary baking time. It also needed to be something that wouldn’t require making a lot of noise either (it was 4:30 in the morning).

I have no idea what possessed me to find this recipe, but I had a ton of saltines, and a bunch of chocolate that needed to be used. There are many variations to the recipe, and you can find a million recipes by just google-ing “saltine candy”. The end result met my expectations across the board, and it went over well at our Christmas fling. And the picture? I took it at my desk in my office… This is my redneck post!

Cracker Candy …aka Crack, Saltine Toffee…

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 sleeve saltine crackers
  • 12 – 16 ounces chocolate (I used Ghirardelli dark, semi and white)

Directions:

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees. Prep a jelly roll pan with foil and single layer the crackers on the foil, set aside.

Cube the butter and combine with brown sugar in a small saucepan. Boil until foamy, about three minutes. Remove from heat and pour over the crackers. Tilt the pan to spread the toffee mixture over all of the crackers. Bake for 7 – 10 minutes, or until the toffee is bubbling. Remove the pan from the oven and top with your chocolate. When the chocolate begins to melt, spread it evenly over the crackers. Chill in refrigerator till the chocolate is set, about 30 minutes and break into pieces. Store at room temperature.

By the way, most recipes add nuts or other toppings, but I didn’t any, and I am really not a big nut fan… though I have been accused of being a nut!

 

crack-toffee-5

Cracker Candy

