Tags

,

French Silk Pie

French Silk Pie

What is the easiest way to add calories to your diet? Dessert, and holiday time is no time to count calories…unless that is you are trying to increase them. This dessert is rich, rich, rich… but oh so wonderful, essential to the chocoholics repertoire.

I have seen this recipe posted other places, but I got it from my sister in law after tasting it at her house. If you have issues with raw eggs, you should look for another version, I have seen them on the web…

I made this pie for one of my bosses. I was going to make a carrot cake using this new cupcake pan by Wilton, but its poor design prevented that, I will be making cupcake pops with what I salvaged from that (long story).

French Silk Pie 

(from Angie)

  • 2 deep dish pie crusts, baked and cooled
  • 3 ounces unsweetened chocolate
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 4 eggs
  • 16 ounce whipped topping
  • Chocolate curls for garnish

Directions:

In small bowl, melt chocolate at 50% power for 3 minutes, stirring at one minute intervals.

 

Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy then add vanilla and melted chocolate. Beat in eggs one at a time, beating for one minute after each egg. Pour into pie crust. Refrigerate until solid, at least one hour. Top with whipped topping and garnish with chocolate curls if desired.

 

You can freeze this pie too, do so before adding garnish though.

Makes 2 Pies

P.S. The picture was the only piece that I could salvage… gotta get the whole pie next time…

