Tags

, ,

 

Hello Frosty!

Hello Frosty!

Last week I was desperately trying to figure out what to give my kids teachers for Christmas. Gift giving at school has become too extravagent for me. Often, it is a contest for parents to see who can out-do the other. And kid gifts? What can you actually find for $5 or less that isn’t a piece of junk? I would rather give $5 cash to go to charity. Anyway.

My goal was to give something to the teachers that wouldn’t be tossed in the back of a cabinet, or given as a white elephant gift! (Or break the bank)… Baking is always a solution. Time was not on my side however, so this is what I found… I love the snowman jar!

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Muffin Mix 

(Thank you Mr. Breakfast!) 

  • 1 one-quart wide-mouth jar
  • 2 and 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Combine the flour, baking powder and salt. Pour this mixture into the jar and pack it down. Next combine the two sugars and cinnamon and place over flour layer, pack again…finally, end with chocolate chips and top your jar. If you are able to find a cool jar like this one, even better!

Note, on the website Mr. Breakfast, the directions split the flour layer… but it later suggests to prepare the mixture in the jar as I listed above…it worked much better.

 

Finally, attach these directions to the jar. I printed a nice little card and laminated it (at my office),  and attached it to the jars.

 

 

 Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Muffins
(12 servings)

  • 1 jar muffin mix
  • 2 eggs – beaten
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup vegetable or canola oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Prepare 12 muffin cups with cooking spray or muffin papers.

Pour the muffin mix into a large bowl and stir to combine. In a seperate bowl, whisk together the eggs, milk, oil and vanilla. Add the wet ingredients to the mix and stir until just moistened. Distribute the batter evenly into muffin cups. Bake for 18 to 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into a muffin comes out clean.

