Tags

, ,

Christmas Sugar Cookies

Christmas Sugar Cookies

Having three kids means learning how to be a referee, and not a one sided ref. I laugh when my youngest asks to have a “family game night”. If wrestling counts as a family game, we would earn a trophy.

To add to the competition of three kids, I added a couple more for cookie decorations. We rolled and decorated the cookies at my sister-in-laws house with my two wonderful neices (Autumn and Amber!) Several grey hairs later, you get these results:

 

The sugar recipe I used originated from the Frantic Home Cook . She entitled these “Perfect Rolled Sugar Cookies”, and I do agree. They were very “roll-able”! I made two slight changes. I increased the vanilla and salt to one teaspoon of each. The vanilla for extra flavor and the salt because I use unsalted butter and the recipe didn’t specify. I also used frosting that my my sister in law had already prepared, however there is a great recipe on the link provided at Frantic Home Cook. The cookies held their shape well, without too much puffing in the oven. I would recommend this recipe for rolled cookies.

Christmas Sugar Cookies

Adapted from this recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp lemon extract
  • 3 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt

Directions:

Beat the butter until creamed and add sugar, eggs and extracts. Beat until light and fluffy. Combine the flour, soda, baking powder and salt and gradually stir the flour into the creamed mixture. Wrap the dough and refrigerate at least two hours.

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees*. Roll cookies to 1/4 inch thickness on a floured surface. Bake 8 – 10 minutes or until the sides begin to brown. Remove and cool on pan until hardened then cool completely on wire rack.

*I didn’t have the directions with me, so we heated the oven to 350. It actually worked well for the cookies.

