Tags

,

Burger Pie

Burger Pie

This is by far the biggest cheeseburger I have ever made… ok, it’s not a beef patty with a bun, lettuce, tomato, onion, cheese and bacon – but it sure tastes like one. It could be called “lazy burger”, or “redneck burger”. Today, I didn’t care. I was tired, fighting a head cold and listening to hungry people complain. Better, I had all seven ingredients to make a hearty lunch. Thank you Bisquick for the recipe…I adapted it slightly, if you want the original recipe, go here. I served a home tossed Caesar salad for the side. (There was not a drop left of either!)

Bacon Cheeseburger Pie

(aka Impossibly easy Cheeseburger Pie from Bisquick)

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound lean ground beef
  • 1 packet onion soup mix
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese (2% milk)
  • 1/2 cup Bisquick Heart Smart Mix
  • 1 cup milk (skim)
  • 2 eggs
  • Bacon Pieces (I used Oscar Meyer Real Bacon Bits)
  • Ketchup (optional)

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Spray a 9″ pie pan with non-stick cooking spray.

Brown the ground beef with the soup mix in a skillet. Layer in bottom of pie pan and top with cheese. Stir the Bisquick, Milk and eggs until blended and pour into the pie pan. Sprinkle bacon pieces over top of pie and swirl ketchup over the top. Bake in the oven for 20 – 25 minutes, or until lightly browned and set in the middle. Remove and let stand about two minutes then slice and serve.

Note: I didn’t have regular Bisquick or an onion, so I compromised. No one knew – it was still great. I also thought the bacon and ketchup made a “prettier top”.

