Tags

, ,

Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Chocolate Chunk Cookies

No, I don’t mean where my kids stash their midnight snacks. I mean recipe choices that are at the top of my list. Since there are a gazillion choices for cookie recipes – namely chocolate chipped – to each his own. Soft? Fluffy? Cakey? Thin? Crispy? For me, it completely depends on my mood. I think I base my preferences more on how the cookies hold up the next day. If you work during bankers hours, chances are just whipping up a batch of cookies to serve warm at work ain’t gonna happen. Even if you make the dough ahead of time, you have to dedicate time to watching over the oven etc… So I want to make sure that my cookies are just right about 12 hours after they are cooked. Maybe even 24 hours.

So, here is my top-drawer version of the classic.

Chocolate Chip Cookies, Chunky Style

Ingredients:

  • 4½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 cups salted butter, softened
  • 1½ cups packed brown sugar
  • ½ cup, plus 1 tablespoon, granulated sugar
  • 2 (3.3 ounce) packages instant vanilla pudding mix
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
  • 2 cups bittersweet chocolate chunks (from a bar)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°. Sift together the flour and baking soda, set aside.

 

In a large bowl, cream together the butter, brown sugar, and white sugar. Beat in the instant pudding mix until blended. Stir in the eggs and vanilla. Stir in the flour mixture then the chocolate. Using a cookie scoop, (or a heaping teaspoon), drop cookies on un-greased sheets.

 

Bake 10 to 12 minutes until the edges are golden brown. Cool on pan for two minutes then remove to brown paper bag to help absorb oils until cool. Store in airtight container.

 

This recipe makes a WHOLE bunch of cookies. About 7 dozen, so feel free to half the recipe. I like to bake what I need, then roll the rest into balls and freeze. Then I can pop the cookies directly in the oven anytime – as few or as many as I need!

