Tags

,

Simple Shrimp Fried Rice

Simple Shrimp Fried Rice

It has been a busy week. I have had very little time to cook, much less post anything new. I did however get to spend some time in the kitchen tonight – and it wasn’t just washing dishes or cleaning up after five messy people.

I picked up some fresh extra large shrimp at the grocery store with the intention to cook it yesterday, but it never happened. I knew it needed to be cooked today. With leftover rice screaming to be used, I knew what I could throw together. Fried rice is such an easy dish to “toss” together, and you can use just about any vegetable or meat, or both that you have on hand. For this one, I simply used onions and peppers with the shrimp, leftover rice and some egg.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • Soy Sauce
  • Red, yellow and green peppers, sliced
  • Onion sliced
  • Chilled cooked rice, I used about 2 cups
  • 1 egg (or equal egg substitute) scrambled

Directions:

In a 10″ skillet, saute the onions and pepper in about 1 tbsp olive oil until translucent and soft. Add the shrimp, toss with some soy sauce and cook until pink, about 2 – 3 minutes. Add the rice and some more soy sauce. Stir frequently until heated through.  Add the scrambled egg, stir and serve with additional sauce.

Simple, easy, hearty.

