Tags

,

IMG_0625 copy 3

IMG_0609 copy 1

I was too tired to go to the grocery store, so we had to settle for whatever the pantry would provide…  This is how most of the dinners went this week. Sadly, there were not a lot of choices. On nights like this, I often resort to breakfast for dinner… enter, the pancake. Pancakes are never refused in this house, and I enjoy “mixing up” the flavor just for fun. As a last minute idea, I sauteed some thin sliced apples and placed them on top of the cinnamon pancake batter. The combination of cinnamon, sugar and apples was tremendous. It reminded me of a snickerdoodle. Here’s how I did it:

BTW, if the ease of preparation doesn’t convince you, the aroma of cinnamon sugar and apples will.

Apple Cinnamon Pancakes

Ingredients:

  • Pancake batter (your preference)
  • 2 medium apples, thinly sliced
  • Cinnamon sugar
  • Syrup
  • Whipped topping

Directions:

Sprinkle some cinnamon and sugar over sliced apples. Spray a small fry pan with butter spray and saute the apples until they begin to soften. Meanwhile, prepare your favorite pancake batter. Add cinnamon sugar to taste. On a hot griddle or fry pan, pour equal amounts of pancake batter and top with an apple slice, pressing down just slightly, but not covering the apple. Continue to cook the pancake as normal, flipping only once. Serve with syrup, powdered sugar and whipped cream if desired.  

Notes:

  1. I have found that it works better to place the apple slices on top of the batter, versus pouring the batter over the slices.
  2. I didn’t measure the cinnamon and sugar. I rarely do. I have trained my nose to measure certain seasonings.
