Tags

,

 

Sour Cream pound cake 6 copy 

This recipe was one of my first posts on this blog. Since then I believe I have improved my photographs and my posting ability, so I thought it would be good to repost it. This is a versitile recipe, I have used it for a Bundt cake, as a loaf cake (with nuts) and now as a layer cake. I used three 8″ round pans. When I put it together it was huge. I didn’t realize how tall it would be.

IMG_1680 

Sour Cream Pound Cake

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup butter, room temp
  • 3 cups granulated sugar
  • 6 eggs
  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • ¼ tsp baking soda
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp almond or lemon extract
  • 8 oz. sour cream

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Coat desired pans with baking spray. (1 Bundt pan, 3 (8″) round pans, 2 (9″) round pans, or loaf pans)

In a separate bowl, combine flour, soda and salt, set aside. Cream butter and sugar; add eggs one at a time. Add vanilla and lemon extract. Add flour mixture and sour cream alternately ending with flour. Spoon batter into pans. Bake loaf and round pans 45 – 60 minutes,  and bundt pan 60 to 75 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean. For loafs you may add 3 -5 cups of chopped pecans.

 Birthday Cake Version:

For round cake, (birthday cake), slice off top layer and frost – if desired frost inside layers slightly and layer with thin sliced strawberries. Frosting recipe follows: (Oh, enjoy the layer you slice off – it is the best part of the cake.)

Buttercream Frosting:

  • ½ cup softened butter
  • ½ cup butter flavor shortening
  • 16 – 24 oz. powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 -3 Tbls milk

Cream butter, Crisco until smooth, slowly add powdered sugar, add vanilla and milk to desired consistency.

*I frosted the inner layers with strawberry buttercream frosting and a layer of sliced strawberries – see the picture… And I had another layer to put on the top!

 

SCPC 2

