Tags

, , , , ,

Photo from Everyday Food

I am pretty sure that I have, at some point, subscribed to every food magazine out there marking at least 4 or 5 recipes I wanted to make in each one. This in turn leaves me with grand aspirations of gourmet meals and boundless acclamation and laud. Truth is, what I really have is a library stacked full of post-it tabbed articles that I’ve marked during my morning workouts and a crash course dinner printed last-minute from the internet. Don’t get me wrong, some of the best recipes I’ve made have fallen into that category, but I would love to prepare some of those “marked” recipes before they become archaic.

So… when school started a couple of weeks ago and our lives went back to returned to “roller-coaster” mode, I set out to create a weekly menu and negotiate through those post-it tabs. I am happy to say so far so good, though, lacking in the acclamation and laud… This post comes from a recipe marked back in April of 2010. I’m not a big grits girl, but once you pour bacon and cheese in, I think the grits are easily concealed. I didn’t take any photo’s, this one is credited to the magazine, Everyday Food.

The recipe was very easy to prepare and without the addition of butter and cream is a healthier choice for cheese grits. There is a strong bacon presence due to both the initial preparation and mixing the bacon mixture into the grits. The next time I prepare these, I will probably just place the bacon on the top and not mix it in. I guess it will depend on if I am feeling “bacon-ee” or not. Try it out, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

You can access the recipe from the link and I have posted it below.

Bacon Cheddar Grits

Ingredients:

  • 4 slices bacon, finely chopped
  • 1 jalapeno, finely chopped (I used 1/4 of a large onion)
  • 4 1/2 cups water
  • 1 cup quick-cooking grits
  • Course salt and ground pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups grated sharp cheddar cheese, divided

Directions:

In a medium saucepan, saute bacon and onion over medium, stirring occasionally, until bacon is browned, about 8 minutes. With a slotted spoon, transfer mixture to a small bowl, set aside. Remove pan from heat and carefully add 4 1/2 cups water (fat may sputter).

Bring liquid to a boil over high and whisk in grits. Whisk until mixture begins to thicken, then reduce heat to low and gently simmer, stirring occasionally to prevent sticking, 25 minutes or until creamy. Season with salt and pepper. Whisk in 1 cup grated (2.5 ounces) and three-fourths the bacon mixture. Pour into a 2-quart serving dish and top with 1/2 cup cheddar (1.5 ounces) and remaining bacon mixture.

Makes 4 servings.

Nutrition per Everyday Food Magazine

Per serving: 300 calories, 12.5 g fat (6.9g sat fat), 13 g protein, 33 g carbs, .8 g fiber

