Tags

, ,

 

img_8200-copy

Sweet Friends!

 First off, let me say that many people snub their nose to participating in this “chain recipe”. After making it tonight, I am thinking it is the way to go! Unless you are originating the chain with the starter yourself, it is practically painless to pull of this sweet bread. AND, there are tons of variations to use with this sourdough starter. I am hooked now… bring on the friends!

Well, I have only eaten Amish Friendship Bread once a long time ago. All I remember was that it was really good. That same day I went home with my own starter bag, only to completely forget to do anything else with it. Hence, this is my first time ever actually “following through” with the recipe. To be completely honest, I almost didn’t make this one either. I was already about 36 hours after the 10 day mark; however, some internet research re-assured me that it would be ok to use.

img_8159-copy

Amish Friendship Bread

The bread was fabulous, not to mention very easy to combine and bake. It baked perfectly in exactly one hour (as the directions stated).  Now I have 4 more starters, and 10 days to make tonights two loaves last. I do plan to use one of the starters in the morning to make some Amish cookies. I will certainly post those results tomorrow.

Amish Friendship Bread (a.k.a. Sourdough Starter)

(You either need a friend with a starter, or to make your own. I found several decent looking recipes in my searches)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1-1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 – (5.1 oz) box instant vanilla pudding
  • 1 cup Amish starter
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2  cup oil
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Topping:

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

Pre-heat the oven to 325 degrees. Grease two 9 x 5″ loaf pans and dust bottom and sides of pan with cinnamon sugar mixture.

In a large bowl, combine all dry ingredients, make a well in the center of the mix and set aside. Combine the wet ingredients and mix well, pour into well of the flour mixture and stir until batter is well combined, but don’t over-mix. Pour batter evenly into pans and sprinkle with remaining cinnamon sugar. Bake for one hour, or until toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool in pans for about 10 minutes, then remove and serve, or cool completely and store in a airtight container.

*I always store my sweet/quick breads in the refrigerator. I think they taste better that way.

**I read numerous reviews stating you can freeze the starter, defrosting it in the fridge for 3 hours, then continuing with the proper daily sequence.

 

img_8151-copy

View from the top!